The purpose of governance is to provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance.

There are eight governors on the Kings Academy Board, made up of three foundation governors, two community governors and 3 parent governors. Governors are appointed by the members of the Wessex Learning Trust, parent governors are elected by parents of current students.

The full governing body usually meets four times per year.

Kings Academy Board of Governors

  • Mrs Emer Ambrosius ‐ Parent
  • Mrs Gillian Briggs ‐ Community ‐ Chair of Governors, Pupil Premium
  • Rev Stuart Burns ‐ Foundation
  • Mr Denis Carroll ‐ Parent ‐ Raising Standard Lead
  • Mrs Amanda Forster‐Searle ‐ Community - Wellbeing
  • Mr Richard Oliver ‐ Foundation ‐ Vice Chair, Safeguarding
  • Mr Chris Thurling ‐ Parent ‐ Teaching and Learning, Appraisal system
  • Mrs Ceri Walsh ‐ Foundation ‐ SEND
  • Mr David Wiltshire ‐ Headteacher (ex-officio)

Correspondence to the Governing Body should be addressed to the Chair, Mrs Gillian Briggs, and sent to Mrs Buffham, Clerk to Governors at The Kings of Wessex Academy, Station Road, Cheddar, BS27 3AQ

If you are interested in becoming a governor, or wish to address any concerns directly, please contact Mrs Buffham, Clerk to Governors on or see the newsletter for information of any current vacancies.